Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yes, we made two cucumber salads in one go.  I told you cucumbers were cheap, didn’t I? Anyway, this recipe is also good, though much stronger and more like an Asian-flavored refrigerator pickle than a dressed cucumber.  As such, Kiki and I loved them, Sssargon liked them, and Seish didn’t like them.  The original recipe came courtesy of the foodnetwork and Wolfgang Puck.  Again, these are low-calorie, filling and delicious.

  • 2 medium cucumbers, seeded and sliced thinly
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce (I used a dark soy, regular soy mixture because I like the flavor and that’s what I keep in the house)
  • 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar (DON’T USED SEASONED VINEGAR)
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 2 teaspoons sesame seeds (these are really optional, though.  twould taste fine without)

Mix everything but the cucumbers. Then seed and slice the cucumbers, and add them in.  Toss thoroughly, and let stand in the fridge for 20 min.  I would also check on them and stir them every 5 minutes or so, so that they evenly soak up the dressing.

