Tags

, , , ,

Okay, so  like to eat turnips from time to time, mostly because they’re like half cauliflower half potato, and also full of veggie goodness.  So I was trying out recipes and liked this one. I also feel certain I have made it before and enjoyed it.

ORIGINAL RECIPE LINK! Most of the comments are people complaining about the taste of turnips or OMG HOW DO I COOK TURNIPS? so they’re not very helpful.

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds turnips
  • Salt and pepper
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons poppy seeds
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 4 tablespoons red wine vinegar

Cut the turnips into 1 inch cubes, season them with salt and pepper, set aside. In a skillet brown the butter (DO NOT LET IT BURN OR START BURNING. SMOKE = BAD, burned) over medium to medium high heat Add turnips and poppy seeds and toss to coat with butter. Saute till turnips are golden brown. (they say 8-9 minutes. They should be tender. I ended up adding a little water). Add paprika and toss to coat. Sprinkle vinegar over pan and cook until evaporated, (he says 4 to 5 minutes, I had much less than that), remove from heat and salt and pepper to taste. Serve. Tastes best when hot.

