Tags

, ,

This is the best brownie recipe I know.  I invented it by accident when I had to substitute butterscotch in a recipe because we didn’t have chocolate chips, and then added cinnamon so my mom wouldn’t eat them all.  Spoiler: she did anyway, even though she hates cinnamon.  They’re that good.

I have been told these are like crack.

One note, I STRONGLY ADVISE AGAINST baking these in a glass or Pyrex pan.  They have never come out right when I’ve done that.  Use metal.

YOU NEED:

1 1/2 cups sugar
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder (Note: quality is important here.  The better cocoa you use, the better these will taste)3 eggs
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon (this is a guess, I eyeball it)
3/4 cup butterscotch chips

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 325.  Grease (or line with parchment paper) a 9×13 pan.

In a mixing bowl, combine sugar, flour, cocoa powder, and salt.  Sift until even.  Add cinnamon.  I usually do this by shaking it on until I like the color/odor, but that’s subjective and it’s easy to overdo it, so I’ve suggested 2 tsp here.

Add melted butter first and mix in, then add the eggs. Mix until dry ingredients are wet, don’t beat it too hard.

Stir in butterscotch chips until evenly distributed.

Spread batter in pan and bake for 20-30 minutes, depending on how you like your brownies.  I like mine gooey so I usually go closer to 20.

Voilà.  Enjoy!

Note:  You can also do these in a cupcake pan, and it’s amazing.

