So this weekend I was inspired to make a fruit salad.  I googled a bunch of variations on balsamic vinegar fruit salads and this is what I concocted.


1/4 cup aged balsamic

1 Tablespoon finely chopped fresh basil leaves

8-10 cups fruit, chopped small

The fruit i used was a whole cored pineapple, halved red grapes, and two smallish apples.  But any combination of very sweet fruits would work well.

Pour chopped fruit into huge bowl, drizzle with about half the balsamic and the basil, mix until all fruit is coated and chill until time to serve.  Add extra balsamic to taste, or as an extra garnish drizzle before serving.
Other herbs may work also, but the basil balanced really well with the flavors involved.  Next time I try this I will also be adding toasted nuts at my mothers request.  I will update if that works really well.

